Looking back…What did I learn?

comictitleClick here to view comic strip

(Source: Created by me)

Luckily for me, MANG2049 has taught me that managing my digital footprint has become a very useful skill in today’s context.

So how has my own digital behaviour has changed over the course of this module?

test-results.png

(Source: Created by me)

quuotee

(Source: Created by me)

Mang2049 has taught me that in order to develop a professional digital profile, one has to carefully craft the content he posts since day 1 of account creation and continually be wary of his digital footprint thereafter. Thus I have put what I have learnt into action.

Here are the changes I have made to my social media profiles:

Facebook

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Personally, Facebook is one of my private, personal social media accounts that I use casually. However, I did update my details and ensure that anything I posted publicly was clean, just in case any future employer decides to screen me.

  • Updated profile photo
  • Added Cover photo
  • Updated with accurate educational details

Twitter

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

twitter3

I really enjoyed the use of hashtags as it really helps to strike up a discussion on certain issues that are happening in our society.

  • Changed displayed name to full name
  • Added a cover photo
  • Updated profile photo
  • Tweeted more often
  • Began to follow influential celebrities/organisations I care about

WordPress

Before

  • Did not own a blog

After

  • Chose a skin that is easy to navigate

Having my own blog has given me a new found respect for content creators who upload material often – if it was tough for me to write a new post everyday for 3 weeks, imagine what it must be like for content creators who do it for a living!

This is my favourite Youtuber, Casey Neistat – In 2015, he decided to make a commitment to vlog daily in order to push the limits of his creativity.

My favourite video from Neistat:

Content Creators like Neistat who consistently produce inspirational content are reasons why we should consider supporting Creatives!

LinkedIn

Before

  • Did not own a LinkedIn Account

After

li1

Topic 3 reminded me about the relevance of having a LinkedIn account as 94% of recruiters use it as a form of selection. Thus, I will be investing most of my time developing my LinkedIn profile for my upcoming internship.

Conclusion

In general, I have ensured that the all the photos and names displayed on my social media accounts are the same to ensure consistency. In addition, I have also taken steps to ensure that all the content that I post on the different platforms are appropriate.

Honestly speaking, I thought that developing my professional digital profile would only be relevant to me after I completed my degree. Little did I know, my digital profile began the moment I created a social media account. Before MANG2049, I was a relatively private person when it came to my personal life. Thus, I now have separate accounts for professional use. I intend to use these professional accounts to network for future job opportunities by joining forums and discussions regarding my topics of interests, and following professionals of relevant industries. However, I am not just a workaholic but also a fun-loving girl, thus I will display the more authentic side of myself by following my hobby-related interests and causes that I care about. Even though MANG2049 has ended, I will continue to practice the relevant skills that I have learnt into the workplace as a future marketer.

poor

(Please take some time to appreciate my poorly mouse-drawn illustration, LI for LinkedIn)

(Source: Obviously me)

This module has been an interesting experience and I thank you all, lecturers & friends, for reading my posts!

(579 words excluding photo captions)

 

Leave a comment